top of page

Luciano Bacheta honoured at BRDC Awards

Reigning FIA Formula 2 Champion Luciano Bacheta was honoured at this year's British Racing Drivers' Club (BRDC) Awards after picking up the prestigious John Cobb Trophy.

The annual award ceremony, which celebrates motor racing achievements throughout 2012, was held in London on Monday. Comma Oil-backed Bacheta was one of a number of top drivers invited to the star studded ceremony for his performance this year in which he led the F2 championship from start to finish, including securing a record-breaking four consecutive wins. The John Cobb Trophy is presented to the British Driver, driving a British car, who has achieved success or successes of outstanding character. Previous winners include Lewis Hamilton MBE, Jenson Button MBE, Andy Green and Dario Franchitti.

John Cobb himself (2 December 1899-29 September 1952) was a racing motorist who broke the land speed record at Bonneville on 23 August 1939. He died in 1952 attempting to break the world water speed record at Loch Ness in the jet speedboat cruised at a speed in excess of 200mph.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page